In order to preserve the public health and safety of Maine residents (in or out-of-state), Governor Mills enacted an executive order regarding required measures every individual traveling into the state must adhere to. What does that mean?
- Unless you are coming into the state for essential services, you must self-quarantine for 14 days-even if you live here as your primary or secondary residence
- Visitors are instructed not to travel to Maine if showing any symptoms of COVID-19 OR if you are coming from an area that is considered a “hot spot”
- There are restrictions that apply to specific states (New York, New Jersey, Connecticut)
- The order will be enforced- including by means of community policing
- You may be subject to a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and $1000 fine
If in doubt, please check the order for details.